2016 No-Till Innovator Award Recipients Recognized

Syngenta and No-Till Farmer magazine recognized four innovators during the recent 25th National No-Till Conference.
Corn plants thrive among the remains of last year’s stalks.
Spring wheat grows in a no-till field.
During the 25th National No-Till Conference, Syngenta and No-Till Farmer magazine recognized four innovators who have identified ways to no-till more effectively, more economically and with less impact on the environment.

They all have made important contributions to the conservation movement. A panel of judges chose the winners based on their dedication to the advancement of no-till farming, without regard for the types of crops grown and the kinds of equipment, seed, seed treatment or crop protection products used.

The 2016 No-Till Innovators by category are:

  • Steve Berger, a grower in Wellman, Iowa—Crop Production
  • David Franzen, Ph.D., extension soil specialist with North Dakota State University—Research and Education
  • Betsy Bower, agronomist with Ceres Solutions, LLP, in Lafayette, Indiana—Business and Service
  • Champlain Valley Farmer Coalition in Middlebury, Virginia—Organization

The judges, who represented different sectors of the no-till industry, were Darrell Bruggink, editor of No-Till Farmer; Derrick LeBeau, agronomic service representative with Syngenta; Rodney Rulon from Rulon Enterprises in Arcadia, Indiana; and Terry Taylor from Terry N. Taylor Farm in Geff, Illinois.

Syngenta is now accepting nominations for the 2017 No-Till Innovator Awards. The entry deadline is August 1, and winners will be announced in January 2018.

View Photo Gallery
Previous Next